Showing Collections: 201 - 225 of 397
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.194
Scope and Contents
Senior essay written by Thomas W. Lawrence titled, "Modern Education."
Dates:
1905 June 2
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.189
Scope and Contents
Undated play titled "The Steel Harp," written by Leach.
Dates:
circa 1945-1949
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.279
Scope and Contents
Scholarship and attendance report for Mason E. Lee. It provides his class grade (ex. fair, good) for different classes as well as a remark by and signature of H. L. Bridges.
Dates:
1906 December 21
Collection
Identifier: UA 7.010
Scope and Contents
This collection contains three folders of materials about the Lesbian and Gay Union at the College of William and Mary. It includes fliers for events, meeting schedules, correspondence, funding proposals, a packet of materials from the 1986 Gay Awareness Week, and materials received from student groups at Virginia Tech and James Madison University. It also includes a copy of the by-laws of the Lambda Alliance, an early gay student group at William and Mary.
Dates:
1980-1997; Majority of material found in 1984-1987
Collection — Box: 1 (undersize), Volume: 1
Identifier: UA 5.033
Scope and Contents
One dark brown memo book, 2.75" x 4", containing George Lindsay's diary from his time at the College of William and Mary and at home in Richmond. At the end of the diary is a list of names and list of expenditures. Lindsay’s activities include going on walks in the evening with friends; attending church every Sunday, either Episcopal or Baptist churches; taking lessons in math and history; attending parties such as Mrs. Tucker's; studying hard; and going on school picnics. His...
Dates:
1858
Collection
Identifier: UA 7.064
Scope and Contents
Records consist of the original proposal for Lips, meeting notes, publicity articles, fliers, and submissions.
Dates:
2007-2012
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.122
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of a scrapbook containing clippings, ribbons, tickets, and programs from various track meets of Henry Moncure "Monk" Little while a student at William & Mary from 1930 to 1934. The bulk of the clippings detail the accomplishments of Little as a track star. There are also clippings about Little trying out for the 1932 Olympic Games.
Dates:
1930-1977; Majority of material found in 1930-1935
Collection
Identifier: UA 253
Scope and Contents
This collection contains materials on the Tidewater Labor Support Committee (TLSC), TLSC's Living Wage Campaign, and the Living Wage Coalition (LWC). Much of the collection consists of material collected by James Spady including correspondence from 2000-2001, articles, reports, studies, and other resource materials related to labor relations in the U.S., Virginia, the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, and the College of William and Mary. The first box contains meeting notes,...
Dates:
1991-2012; Majority of material found in 1999-2002
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.073
Scope and Contents
One burlap-covered scrapbook, 15" x 12", with unidentified photographs of a party being held for William & Mary MBA students, dated circa 1967-1968.
Dates:
1967-1968
Collection
Identifier: SC 01818
Content Description
The collection contains one letter from Caspar M. McElfresh's located in Williamsburg, Virginia at William & Mary, to his sister, Ariana McElfresh in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The letter contains McElfresh’s opinions and experiences during his first year at William & Mary. He likes his fellow students, his professors and how they teach their classes. He also discusses his hopes to have his two rifles at a later date.
Dates:
1850 October 15
Collection
Identifier: UA 181.2
Scope and Contents
The collection contains programs, newsletters, clippings, box scores, photographs, game footage and other material related to the College of William and Mary Men's and Women's Soccer teams from 1965 to 2022. Also included are clippings, photographs, and articles about local soccer camps and tournaments that were held at William and Mary. A majority of the material in the collection, including the long run of "soccer scrapbooks," pertains mainly to the Men's team between the years of 1965 and...
Dates:
1965-2022
Collection
Identifier: UA 7.056
Scope and Contents
Fliers and logbooks from the student-run Meridian Coffeehouse at William & Mary. The fliers advertise events such as music shows, jam sessions, poetry readings, holiday parties, discussion groups, film screenings, creative performances, dance parties, and other events. Some specialized events include John Waters Eve, Divination Night, Alice in Wonderland Night, Body Painting and Drum Circle, the opportunity to star in "Greg's Greasy Lust Movie," fundraiser concerts, and "Infoshop"...
Dates:
1996-[ongoing]
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.094
Scope and Contents
This collection contains correspondence, photographs, and publications collected by Beth Meyer, a member of the class of 1958 at William & Mary. The bulk of the material dates from when Ms. Meyer was a student from 1955-1958. Included are copies of various issues of the Flat Hat, Alumni Gazette, and programs from productions of the William & Mary Theatre. The photographs mostly consist of different reunions of the class of 1958 from over the years.
Dates:
1955-1983; Majority of material found in 1955-1958
Collection
Identifier: UA 210
Scope and Contents
This collection includes invitations, material about the Queen's Guard and ROTC, and other publications from the Department of Military Science and other military-related bodies at the College of William and Mary. The collection also includes material related to the Student Army Training Corps stationed on campus during World War I, activities of other units during World War II, and the US Coast Guard Auxiliary.
Dates:
1918-2011
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.103
Scope and Contents
From the dealer's inventory: "Hardbound with gilt lettering measuring 8.5” x 11.25” 1. The History of The United States, A Series of Lectures in The College of William & Mary, by Ludwell H. Johnson, Ph.D. 1961-196 2. History 417-418 The British Empire, a course of lectures in the College of William & Mary, by Bruce T. McCully, Ph.D. 1962-1963 3. History 406 The United States, 1763-1815, by T.W. Tate, A course of lectures presented in...
Dates:
1960-1964
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.084
Scope and Contents
This collection contains correspondence, news clippings, photographs, and programs from Gladys Monroe's years as a student at the College of William and Mary. Included in the collection is a speech given by Monroe about Grace Warren Landrum, former Dean of Women, at the dedication of Landrum Hall in 1959; programs from the William and Mary Dramatic Club from 1931 to 1933; photographs of Monroe, including a few with fellow theatre student Howard Scammon; news clippings about Ms. Monroe; and a...
Dates:
1929-1959; Majority of material found in 1930-1933
Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: UA 5.158
Scope and Contents
This collection contains letters, financial records, and other material concerning Louise Lightfoot Morriss, class of 1935 from the College of William and Mary. Most of the letters written to Louise while she was at William and Mary were from a boyfriend at the United States Naval Academy, who signed all his letters "Add." There are also letters written to Mrs. G. L. Morriss, Louise's parents, at Mohawk Farm, their residence in Buckingham County, Virginia. Most of these letters concern...
Dates:
1911-1933; Majority of material found in 1927-1933
Collection
Identifier: UA 7.013
Scope and Contents
The records of the Virginia Gamma Chapter the Mortar Board honor Society at the College of William and Mary include annual reports, correspondence, fliers and publications, as well as scrapbooks.
Dates:
1929-2014
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.239
Scope and Contents
The collection includes two receipts signed by Mary M. Peachy, one of which was for boarding Hunter, and two additional receipts. There is an essay or oration written by Hunter about "figures of speech," which includes a note from his instructor (whose initials might be LAS or TAS) stating "The entire absence of corrections shows how well Mr. Hunter has performed his task." There is an additional essay or oration, which appears to be incomplete, about Marshal Ney. The same instructor...
Dates:
1817
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.098
Scope and Contents
This collection is composed of the correspondence, a certificate, Myers' commencement remarks, and a list of books of College of William and Mary student Samuel Myers. The letters includes Myers' career plans, events in Williamsburg including a near-duel Myers was involved in, and other matters.
Filed in same box as Mss. 95 M99 Samuel Myers Papers as folder 2.
Dates:
1808-1812
Collection
Identifier: UA 262
Scope and Contents
This collection contains fliers and booklets from the National Institute of American History and Democracy (NIAHD) at The College of William and Mary. The collection includes a booklet for a Summer Program in Early American History for High School Juniors and Seniors conducted by The College of William and Mary.
Dates:
2002-2006
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.126
Scope and Contents
The papers of Elizabeth Archer Barnard Nickels include scrapbooks, correspondence, invitations, publications, course work, and other material from her student life. Much of the material is from her time as a student at the College of William and Mary from 1937 through 1939. This covers the range of typical student activities from classes to football games to student government and other organizations. There is also some earlier material from Hopewell High School and the State Teacher's...
Dates:
1929-1953 (bulk 1929-1935); Majority of material found in 1929-1935
Collection — Box: 1, Volume: 1
Identifier: UA 5.092
Scope and Contents
The scrapbook of William & Mary student Paul W. Norton includes photographs, routine correspondence from the college, news clippings, programs, dance cards, and other materials related to Notron's time at W&M. The photographs depict: students and student activities; campus buildings, including the Rogers Hall fire; athletics, including track and field, baseball, and football; Norton's fraternity Sigma Phi Epsilon.
Dates:
1927-1931
Collection
Identifier: UA 425
Content Description
This collection consists of multiple photographs documenting the members and activities of the Nu Kappa Epsilon (Alpha Chapter) at William & Mary.Photographs include those of members of the sorority in the years 2015-2016 and are identical, whiloe others include 4x6 pictures of the members. The collection primarily consists of composite photographs of members.
Dates:
2001-2016
Collection
Identifier: UA 193
Scope and Contents
This collection includes printed materials including course selction guidebooks at William & Mary.
Dates:
1989-2002
